Awards for excellence to support advocacy mission says association

The National Stone, Sand and Gravel Association is committed to recognizing exceptional professionals, companies and quarries with the annual Awards of Excellence program, which identifies the commitment of members to safety, community involvement and environmental stewardship.

In an effort to recognize the truly outstanding work of the people in the aggregates industry at an even higher level and to better connect that recognition with our advocacy for the aggregates industry, the presentation of some of the awards will now take place at the association’s new fall board of directors meeting and legislative and policy forum in 2017.

“Advocacy remains job No 1 for NSSGA and what better way to ‘walk our talk’ than to recognize the excellent operations and high achievers in the aggregates industry in a way that will clearly demonstrate our dedication to the communities we serve, sustainable practices and above all else, safety, to policymakers in Congress and regulatory agencies like MSHA,” said Michael W. Johnson,  president, National Stone, Sand and Gravel Association.

The new pattern for the presentation of association  awards will be instituted in 2017. The Awards of Excellence in Community Relations, the Barry K Wendt Commitment Award and the James M. Christie Safety and Health Professional of the Year Award will still be presented at the association’s Annual Convention. This year’s event will take place in conjunction with CONEXPO-CON/AGG, March 7-11, 2017 in Las Vegas. On September 15, 2016, members will be able to apply for community relations awards through the online application process located on the association’s awards webpage.

The association will then present the Awards of Excellence in Safety and Health, the Environmental Excellence Awards and Grassroots Awards at the association’s new event in Fall in Washington, DC Members of Congress and regulators will be invited to take part in the presentation of the awards to outstanding operations. Submissions for these awards will open in late spring 2017.

To effectively transition to the new pattern, awards in the Safety Excellence and Corporate Sterling Safety categories will actually be presented twice in 2017.  Awards based upon 2016 data will be presented at the association’s annual convention in March and awards based upon 2017 data will be presented at the new Fall Board of Directors Meeting and Policy Conference in the fall. Beginning in 2018, the safety awards will be presented once annually as part of the Fall Board of Directors Meeting and Policy Conference.

The 2017 awards will be given based on work completed from January through December 2016.

(Visited 47 times, 1 visits today)

Get involved


As a member of this site you will be able to receive aggregates news relating only to those categories that are most relevant to you, submit job listings for FREE, post questions in the Q&A, and more.

Register Now

Feature your company

The Feature Your Company listing is your custom-made (by us) profile page that allows you to add any of the following content: text, videos, links, images. The page will also be listed on the Featured Company landing page. Over 560 unique aggregates users visit the site per day! Complete the enquiry form now to contact us.

Contact us


Are you looking for an aggregate related job? Click here to see our jobs listing supplied by industry experts United Employment.

See Jobs


Reach thousands of budget holders and decision makers by promoting your company on the longest established aggregate website in the US & Canada. Or advertise in our emails which are sent to opted-in subscribers according to their chosen categories. All advertising will display correctly on tablets and mobiles as this site is responsive.